PCOS Update

Thought it was about time I updated you on the ongoing battle that is PCOS, I cant remember the last time I wrote about it…maybe a month or 2 ago?

Anyway, nothing drastic has changed I am still on Metformin, no more horribly sick feelings (unless I eat too much dairy) and the headaches have gone (that could be because I need to wear glasses now) and the weight is slowly going off. That could be a mixture of things, the tablets or the diet, either way its a win.

However, the horrible side effects/symptoms are still here; the excess hair, the mood swings & the thinning hair are among just a few of them. With that said, I feel like I am kinda owning it at the moment, I feel like I have started to accept that this is me – in reality I am going to be living with PCOS forever. Yes, if my weight goes down then my symptoms do reduce so I know what I need to do to help myself.

I can’t remember where I was or who I was speaking with but they told me that when you get to your 30’s and upwards you start to be more accepting of yourself. I feel like I am starting to get to that point. For a long time I have joked about not caring about what anyone else thinks, when of course I always did. Recently though, I have found myself thinking that as long as I am happy and Matt still finds me attractive then sod what anyone else thinks.

Really, what does it matter. Who cares if people think your not “on trend” with your clothes choice, or your hair style isn’t current. The best accessory you can wear is your smile and you will only smile when you are happy with yourself and surrounded by those you love and make you happy. Stop wasting time surrounded by people who make you feel inadequate and make you unhappy. Life is far too short and you should spend it doing things that you love.

So yes, my PCOS is still here and do you know what? It always will be! BUT that is ok; it doesn’t define me, it isn’t who I am. Something that I always felt was a negative in my life and I have used as an excuse to hide away and be ashamed of myself, why?!

I am on a journey to reach an “ideal weight” and I will get there, but I am going to enjoy myself on the way. So although my Slimming World consultant might secretly judge me for the fact that I enjoy a takeaway or a night out every other week and that my weight isn’t going down as much as others. I dont flippin’ care. I am going to be trying to lose weight for as long as it takes me & as long as I can still run at the gym and can still do up my skinny jeans then I am happy!

The lesson we all need to learn, just be comfortable with you.

This Is A Tipsy Me, Happy To Have An Ice Lolly, At Goodwood With Family. But Most Of All – I Am HAPPY!

Love

Emma xxx

 

Leave a Reply

