Beautiful Weekend

How B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L has the weather been on the south coast for the past week? We have been truly blessed with gorgeous summer sun and I even have a little tan going on!

Earlier last week I had decided that Matt and I needed a little adventure, we have been spending a lot of time putting our stamp on the house that we have kinda gotten a little lost and forgotten what it was like just being us. One thing that people don’t tell you when you are preparing to move in is that all those little date evenings or random weekends in the forest or down the beach. So in a bid to spruce life up a bit, I told Matt to be ready to leave the house at 8.30am Saturday as I was taking us out for the day.

I had my sights set on Durdle Door – I have seen a lot of nice pictures and posts about it and my brother has been recently so I thought we could both do with some sea air and peaceful surroundings.

So I cooked up some bacon sarnies for the drive down and headed out on the road, we got stuck in a bit of traffic around the Bournemouth area which isn’t unusual when the weather is like this and made it to Durdle Door in around 2 hours. We parked up, paid for 2 hours parking and started to walk down, neither of us could understand why after so many visits to Weymouth we have never made it here before. The weather was beautiful, it was so so sunny and when you looked across the horizon it felt like you were abroad!

 

As we reached the bottom of the hill and caught glimpses of the sea and beach below us, neither of us could believe how crystal clear the water was and I instantly regretted not wearing my swim gear as I just wanted to jump right in. We headed down the steep stairs to the main beach looking on to the rock formation and sat on the stones, it was nice just be present for a while and soak in the surroundings and watch all the kayakers and families enjoying their Saturday. We headed back up and spent some time watching 2 dogs playing around in the cove before making our way back up the hill to the car. One thing no-one warned me was just how steep the hill was, of course you realise as you are going down, but nothing can prepare you for the steepness going back up!

We made the decision to head back home via the New Forest and stop off at Burley, we both really like the little village and have often treated ourselves to an ice cream or a cream tea on many of our visits. However, this time as I am on a bit of a health kick (more on that another time), we avoided the Ice Creams and Cream Tea’s and headed to the pub for a cold refreshing drink and some lunch. Weirdly we sat in “our seats” the same seats we sit in every time and they are always available – its weird – I had a really nice Chicken Cesar Salad and Matt had a Burger. The food was fantastic and made even better as we headed out a group of horses had decide to take over the road – perfect photo opportunity and typical of the New Forest!

As we have been to the New Forest many times I figured we wouldn’t need our sat nav to get home……I was wrong. We didn’t really know where we were going and the sign posts didn’t say anywhere we recognised, so Matt got out the sat nav and we started to head out on the right path home. As we were driving down one of the forest roads directly in my eye sight were Highland Cows! Immediately I pulled into the parking bays and got out to take photo’s. I LOVE Highland Cows, I just think they have so much personality and their faces are adorable! It was soo tempting to try and touch one, but the size of their horns I decided viewing from afar was best!

Our evenings had been planned out separately, Matt was having the boys over and I was meeting up with 2 old school friends for food and cocktails. Marci, Jemma and I haven’t all been together since we left school in 2004 – I had seen both of them separately so I knew we all still got on and would have a blast especially as The Slug & Lettuce serve 2-4-1 cocktails. It was lovely to see them both and to catch up after so long, it was just like no time had passed at all and I cant wait to have another girly evening with them both!

Well there you have it my weekend in a nutshell, unfortunately Sunday didn’t go as planned, but Hayley and I are sorting out another date for Brunch and don’t worry, I will take you with us!

Keep Smiling

Emma xxx

Leave a Reply

