It’s Ok To Be Normal

On any day of the week, scrolling through any social media feed you will find friends, family, bloggers, vloggers, celebrities and just your general everyday folk claiming just how wonderful their lives are and how “lucky” they are to be going on an expensive trip or having purchased a new luxury fashion item or how much weight they have lost the list is endless. All the time you are scrolling, if you are anything like me you will be sat there thinking “why can’t I have that?” and questioning why your life is so boring and dull.

BUT in reality we are only seeing what they want you see. You neverΒ rarely see people posting genuinely about their lives, all the ups and downs. Social media is full of fake lives and its about time that I remember this and stop comparing my normal life to those who only show us the parts they want us to see.

Don’t get me wrong, I have posted things before that may make my life seem to be more perfect than it is and my facebook memories are constant reminder of how much I used to post my whole life for the world to see. Why do we do that? Why do we think that everyone wants to see every part of our life? Because we are all nosey buggers? Ha! Yes we are, but would we miss it if people didn’t share everything? No, probably not.

Today, whilst writing this, I removed my twitter app from my phone. Following bloggers really wasn’t helping my self esteem and I have found it has made me really unappreciative of my life that I have spent so long building with Matt. I am going to be keeping my Instagram, mainly becuase I only following friends, family and companies that I use and I will stick around on Facebook too for the same reasons.

If I keep comparing my “normal”life to their fake lives then I will never appreciate what I have. I have great friends, great family, an awesome boyfriend and after many years of waiting MY OWN HOUSE. That for me, is a massive thing I have wanted for a long time so sod the fakers, I am excited about my new adventure and new chapter in my life!

If I can ask anything of you all. Screw the fakers. Remember that if you stay at home in your PJs all weekend eating cake and drinking prosecco it’s ok!

Love

Emma xx

Leave a Reply

