Goals For 2017

I cant recall the first time I heard about a New Years Resolution, but I remember people always saying that you never stick to them. People will frequently start a New Year Diet or sign up to the gym, but this are done so frequently and last for such a short period of time, I cant help but wonder if people agree to these just to please society?

Don’t get me wrong, I have done both those things in January, but not as a New Year Resolution. I am simply getting back into a routine that I had started last year and just forgot during my recent house move.

I did have a think over the festive period about what I want to achieve in 2017 and what I want to do, not resolutions as such, I guess more of a 2017 bucket list. I wanted to share this with you, not only to give you all some inspiration about goals you could set yourself, but also so that they are down on paper and it can be things I can share throughout the year.

1. Have Both Sets Of Parents Over For Dinner
It will be so nice to have both mine and Matt’s parents over for dinner, cooked by us, in our own home at some point this year. Both sets of parents have done a lot for us over the years and have really helped us out when we were in our home buying process. Strangely and not as I expected, they have allowed us time to just settle in to our home, I was only saying to Matt the other day that neither set have just turned up unexpectedly.

2. Walk To The Castle & Have A Picnic
I am definitely someone who believes that you should love where you live and I candidly take my local area for granted. Not too far from our house is a Castle Ruin which has lovely grounds and an ideal picnic location in the summer. I would love for Matt and I to take a nice stroll down there and relax in the afternoon sun with some yummy food. There is a lot in my local area that I have haven’t done or don’t appreciate, I would like to explore my local area more and really start to enjoy it.

3. Have An Easter Egg Hunt For Our Nieces & Nephew
I love spending time with our Nieces (8 & 4) and Nephew (18mths), they are all such lovely children and really bring a smile to my face. We have often taken the girls on days out to the zoo or the farm, but I would really like to be able to have an easter egg hunt for them at our house. Being a typical auntie I love nothing more than to spoil them and they all know where the “naughty” cupboard is at our house and we have only been there for 4 weeks!

4. Go To Harry Potter Studio’s At Christmas
Matt & I visited the Harry Potter studio’s a few years ago now when we had a week off one spring. It was great fun and we both really enjoyed it. However, I know quite a few people that have been at Christmas when the Hall is all decorated and have said it is truly magical. It has become tradition for us to watch Harry Potter in the lead up to Christmas and it would be a great start to our 2017 Christmas celebrations to re-visit the Harry Potter Studios.

5. Drop A Dress Size
I have been on a “diet” since I was 18, so almost 10 years now. For almost 10 years I have wanted to be skinny. Don’t get me wrong, there have been times where I have been a lot thinner than I am now but in contrast times that I have been a lot heavier. However, I don’t want to be thin, I want to be healthier and fitter than I am now. I am trying to eat healthy, everything in moderation and I have been a regular visitor at the gym for a good few months now. Everything takes time, but if I can drop a dress size this year and end the year in a smaller jean size than I am currently then I will be happy. We don’t own a pair of scales in this house and we NEVER will, this year will be based on how my body feels and changes – I will not be focused on a number.

Like I said, they are goals personal to myself and things that I would like to achieve in 2017. All I ask of you is that any goals or resolutions you set in 2017 do them for YOU. Don’t set goals and resolutions to follow the crowd or be influenced by society, use this year to do something that you want to do. Be it travelling, a new hobby or even start a family. Just enjoy each moment and make the most of the year as I am sure 2018 will be here before we know it! 

Love

Emma xx

Leave a Reply

