Where Have I Been?!

Wow, its been a while!

I would apologise for being away for a few months but in reality I am not sorry. As I posted a little while back I was feeling at a bit of a low point after my Birthday and it took me a while to get out of my rut, but I did in my own way and in my own time. Unfortunately, with that came a writers block and a lack of motivation and inspiration to write and get lost in words. If I am honest, I am not sure how long this spurge now will last, not because I feel naff but just because I still don’t know quite what I want to say, but whilst I feel the urge I am going to write away.

So what have I been doing with my time (not that blogging took up much of it)? In September Matt and I visited a financial advisor to get some advice about how far off we were getting a mortgage and if we could realistically afford it on our salaries. I think we were both shocked and excited when he told us we were fine to go ahead and start looking and that we would have no problems getting a mortgage. We started to look around and see what was out there, we wrote a list of things we wanted from a house and were picky about what we looked at. The 3rd house we looked at we both really liked, we debated on the dining area as we felt it was too small and it turned out we debated for too long as it was off the market when we decided we wanted a 2nd viewing. Not to be deterred we viewed a few more and thought we had found “the one”, but open houses are a nightmare and we ended up in a bidding war and pulled out as the offers were getting ridiculous. Then nothing seemed to come on the market and I think we were starting to get a bit disheartened when I got a call from the agent saying that the first house we both really liked was going back on the market and did we want to take a look?

We had our 2nd viewing the following day and didn’t waste anytime in putting in an offer. About an hour after putting in our offer we were walking round Asda when we got a call to say our offer had been accepted. I could have cried. It was then all systems go, as first time buyers we were in a position to go as fast as the seller wanted and luckily there was just 3 houses in our chain and everyone was happy to be completed by Christmas. So on 9th December 2016, exactly 8 weeks after our offer was accepted we moved into our first home. A lovely 3 bed, semi detatched on the outskirts of a city, about a 10 minute drive from my family home.

It is perfect, we dont need to do anything to the house apart from put in a driveway, but of course like any young first time buyers we want to put our stamp on the place. We have already decided to remove the bath and just have a walk in shower unit, as well as eventually do an extension on our kitchen/diner to create a bigger socializing area and potentially extend into the loft. Some of our friends and family think we are crazy to be planning so much, but for us this is our forever home. Neither of us want to move around frequently and its not something we have done with our families. We decided on this house because the location was ideal, there was potential to grow into the house and for the house to grow with us.

So I suppose my mind has been on other things and the fact that only a handful of our immediate family and friends that were helping us move knew, I couldn’t write on here all about it. That was difficult as there was so much I wanted to write and share as that is all I have known since I started blogging. Trust me there will be lots of home blogs and idea’s coming soon!

So where have we been the past few months? Getting prepared to settle in nicely to our first home and that is exactly what we have done. As I write this we are both relaxed on the sofa eating a tub of Quality Street and watching crappy telly trying to find a light fitting for our living room!

I cant wait to share more of our journey with you over the following months…..

Love

Emma xxx

Leave a Reply

