Secret Holiday

I am due to go on holiday at the end of this week, well I say at the end of this week because as far as I know it could be any time after I finish work on Friday night! My lovely boyfriend Matt has booked us a winter sun holiday and has kindly paid for my ticket as my Birthday & Christmas present, which is such a lovely gesture and I really do appreciate it. However, it is usually me that does all the arranging and booking for the holiday and I was asked recently why I am not excited about going away? Well it’s simple, because I don’t actually feel like I am going on holiday!

I think we are going to Tenerife so I have done some research, but not a lot which is unusual as I normally know what trips we should do or restaurants we should try. I have no idea where we are staying so I can’t check out our hotel online or read reviews on Trip Advisor. Plus Matt is being so cagey about things, like I don’t know what day we are flying or where from & I have no idea how we are getting to and from the airport. I have to hand him my spending money for him to change up (which makes me think I don’t need euro’s) & he has booked all the travel insurance too. So I think the fact that I have had no involvement in the planning is restricting me to be able to get really excited, don’t get me wrong I can’t wait to go away and spend 2 weeks just us in the sun, but I would LOVE to know where we are staying.

Loro Park
Loro Parque Tenerife – Photo Courtesy of Loro Parque

Siam Park Tenerife – Picture Courtesy of First Choice

The other dilemma is what to pack, I know you are all probably saying ‘It’s a sun holiday – pack for the summer!’ That’s really easy to do when you know roughly what you are going to be doing, so in terms of packing it’s hard. I wrote up a list the other day and asked if I needed anything else but he said what I had would be ok but perhaps get a few more bits for the evenings, so that’s ok I can manage that, but then the question comes of Shoes. How many and what kind do I take? I am thinking flip flops/sandals/wedges & trainers, that way it covers all options!

I found these helpful travel tips on Pinterest!

Helpful Tips From Birchbox
Favourite Carry On Advice From Outfit Posts

I think packing would be easier if I didn’t think that I look like a whale, I have indulged over Christmas and having all the sweets still around and lovely cheese & pate it’s so hard not to just have cheese & biscuits for tea every night rather than cooking a “proper” dinner! I am getting back on track with healthy eating, but I know this holiday if it’s all-inclusive will be another indulgent time. So as soon as I am back I am going straight back to Slimming World and will be really going for it, I have a bridesmaid dress to fit into after all in March!

Here are some recipes I want to try all found on Slimming World!

Chilli Garlic Greens
Garlic Mushroom Jackets
Homity Pie
Macaroni Cheese
Tuna & Sweetcorn Fritters

I have never planned a secret holiday before and I don’t think I would be very good at it either, don’t get me wrong I am great at keeping secrets, but I think I would be too excited! I think the closest I have ever come is when we went to New York for Matts 21st, I emailed the hotel in advance and asked if we could be considered for a free room upgrade, booked us tickets to Ice Hockey which he didn’t know about, oh and I booked for us to stay overnight at a hotel near the airport the night before as well. I didn’t really arrange any of it until the month before hand though so I didn’t have to keep it secret for long!

Yey The Rangers Won!

Love This Photo!
Oh Yeah! It Snowed!

That reminds me, its Matt’s birthday whilst we are away & I haven’t got him anything yet and I have no clue what to buy him, maybe I will take us away somewhere in the new year, there are some lovely hotels in the New Forest that we could stay in maybe book for in the spring/summer.

Don’t worry, I will keep you all updated as to where we end up and share all our holiday stories with you!

Lots of Love

Emma xxx

Leave a Reply

