Getting Naked On A Friday Night

Early August 

A while ago now (on the old blog!), I wrote about post about my struggle with PCOS and how hard it can be especially if like me you struggle to lose weight and have excess hair! (check it out here). 

However, I kept seeing all these posts of people on Facebook I know doing boudoir or liberty shoots with various different photography companies. I had spoken to my friend Hayley (who is a budding photographer) about it as I wanted to do it as a gift for Matt and she recommended I take a look at a company called Dimples & Daises on Facebook as they do some really pretty shoots in natural environments.


It was a few weeks after her suggestion, that I messaged them and asked for up & coming dates, unfortunately they didn’t have any at that point, but it was only a few weeks later that they released a whole new batch and something, I have no idea what, made me sign up and pay for it there and then! 

I am not going to lie, although I was nervous in the few weeks lead up, nothing prepared me for how nervous I was on the day of the shoot! Things couldnt have gone any worse on the day either, work was manic and when I left at 3pm for what should have been a 30min drive, my stomach was churning over like there was no tomorrow. My journey didnt quite go to plan, I got stuck behind 2 learner drivers, a slow bus, traffic jams on the motorway then to top it off when I arrived at the location I got really confused about where to go and ended up having to ask a really posh man walking a German Shepherd where the Lavendar Fields were. He knew exactly where I needed to be and gave me what he thought were fool proof directions! However, I still managed to take a wrong turn and ended up in what looked like a cow field, I could see the corn and lavendar, but couldnt figure out how to get there and to top it off someone was following me. I pulled up got out the car and asked the lady if she was there for a photo shoot too? Luckily we were lost together haha! We turned around and managed to find exactly where we needed to be.

I got out of the car, was still completely nervous until I spoke with other ladies and we looked at what bits I brought with me. It suddenly stopped being about a gift for Matt (of course he would get a photo and hopefully love it) but it started being about me and realising that no it doesn’t matter that I have excess hair, boobs and hips because I am a woman and we come in all shapes and sizes.

There were women there of all different shapes and sizes, one lady had brought her newborn baby and to me just oozed body confidence, she was quite happy walking around in a dressing gown breast feeding her gorgeous daughter. I had a lovely chat with her about my blog and raising her children, I hope I am as calm and relaxed about life as she is when I have babies! 

I paired up with lovely Dawn for my shoot, we both walked the walk of nerves to the corn field and both said “nope we wont get naked” neither of us were confident and be both had a lot of nerves. However, Jen and Ellen were AMAZING, I had my first set oh shoots with Jen and she had me laughing and genuinely smiling and feeling good about myself as did Ellen. When Jen asked me out right “so are you getting your boobs out?” I didnt really ponder on it for any longer than 5 seconds before my response of “fuck it, you only get to do this once!” my top came off and I felt free. My body hangups were gone, I could have been there with a full “beard” or a stone heavier and I honestly dont think I would have cared at all, if anything once we were done I said “I cant wait to do it again!” 


I had a quick chat with Holly about how it works about viewing your pictures and she told me I would have to wait 4-6 weeks to see the finished product, but would get in touch as soon as they are ready and what excited me even more was that if I purchased extra’s that they would be immediately sent to my dropbox so I get them straight away. 

Early September 

Ok all of the above was written only a few days after my shoot…..we are now almost at 4 week mark and I am starting to feel stupidly nervous about seeing my photos. I keep think what if I hate them all, what if I look awful, did I waste my money? Realistically I have not see any photo’s on their site that I hate, so I know I will like at least one, but I am soo nervous just waiting for that message to say they are ready! 

29th September

So today was the day I got to view my photos! I was nervous all day and was so unsure what to expect there was a million questions rolling round my brain, but as soon as Holly opened the door I felt completely at ease! As we sat down Holly explained that she would show me all the photos then we could go through and mark the ones I liked then look at what packages she can do for me. The first photo I was blown away with, I couldn’t believe it was me & that I could look that pretty & they just carried on, of course I don’ think I looked great in all of them, but so many of them I couldn’t believe that it was me I was looking at and I ended up coming away with 9 photos in the end and I love every single one of them!

Here is just a few that I want you all to see……


So why not message the girls on their facebook and book yourself in for one of their amazing shoots – I know I will be again in the new year! 

Love Emma xxx

One thought on “Getting Naked On A Friday Night

  1. Pingback: Our Journey | Learning to Fly

Leave a Reply

