Made Up To The Nines

One of the things on my bucket list is to have my make up done at a make up counter and learn what is the right make up for me. Just before Christmas I was doing a bit of research and asking friends and girls at work what make up counter they have found is best, it was a toss up between Benefit and MAC.

I decided to go with MAC, they are expensive, but I felt it was well worth the money. I booked myself in for a 90 minute make-up lesson. I was really overwhelmed when I booked myself in, all the girls that work on the counter were very “made up” and I felt really out of place, so to say I had nerves when I went set off in the car last weekend is an under statement.

When I arrived at the local shopping centre, I decided to take a before shot…..no make up!

look at my bare face!

look at my bare face!

I headed into the department store where the MAC counter is and spoke to one of the lovely assistants who advised Libby would be with me shortly and to browse around, now as someone who has no real clue about make up, I was looking aimlessly. Thankfully Libby came and introduced herself shortly afterwards and completely put me at ease, we spoke about what I would like to learn and what I already know and I explained that this is all part of my blog and things I want to do before I turn 30!

I am not sure if they do this all the time, but Libby explained that she would do half of my face and I would do the other. As soon as she said that my face must have dropped as inside I was thinking ‘nooooo’, but straight away Libby said she would help me and that it isn’t as hard as I think!

So we spoke through foundation and worked out the best one for me, initially I said I didn’t want anything that was too obvious, but the mineral foundation they didn’t have in my shade, so we tried studio sculpt to see if the shading matched and actually it matched my skin really well!

My Shade Is NW15

My Shade Is NW15

I was then shown how to use concealer and eye primer and a prep and prime powder to put on top of my face, which I have learnt will stop my make up moving! Favourite thing about this is the glittery lid it comes with!

20150310_201559

Then we moved onto eyes, probably the one part of my face that always has make up on, either mascara or some eye liner. The 2 things I wanted to take away from my session was what colour suits me the most and also how to apply liquid eyeliner! Libby recommended purple to bring out my green eyes and she asked if I would prefer a palette or seperate eye shadows. I definitely love a palette and already have one from Barry M, so I was recommended one from their new range by Isabel and Ruben Toledo. The palette is called Violetwink and has 6 colours in there, they also have 2 others Moodyblu & Bellgreens. The colours are lovely & the 1 thing I have taken away is that MAC products are so highly pigmented you don’t need to use as much of it, so it lasts longer. Which is great especially considering the products aren’t cheap.

I Love The Design

I Love The Design

Perfect For Day Time Or A Night Out

Perfect For Day Time Or A Night Out

Finally it was eyeliner and then mascara and I am a sucker for small brushes to make my lashes more defined, so we picked out Studio Sculpt! Learning my eye liner wasn’t as hard as I imagined it would be and I think  know that I would be comfortable in applying it myself now.

I am not sure if you have seen, but MAC do face charts and I have since become quite obsessed with them especially as I now have my own!

 

Left Is Day Eye & Right Is Night Eye!

Left Is Day Eye & Right Is Night Eye!

Here is the finished product! For anyone that is going to do this, please remember that you will look different when you leave the department store & if your like me and don’t wear a lot of make up it will be a shock to the system but worth it!

Before I Left The MAC Counter

Before I Left The MAC Counter

Before & After

Before & After

2 thoughts on “Made Up To The Nines

Leave a Reply

