Blogging To Christmas Part IV

Tradition

Every family has their own unique way of celebrating Christmas & getting the house ready. There are 3 traditions that we have done for as long as I can remember as a family and I would like to share those with you tonight.

Carols By Candlelight
My mum and dad have taken me and my brother to church on Christmas Eve ever since we were babies, my grandparents always come with us too. One of my first memories of Christmas is coming back from church in our old house and getting my tray ready and showing my grandparents what I was leaving for Santa! As the years have gone by, I have learnt it’s my grandad who eats the mince pie and my mum drinks the milk! Over time my godfathers mum has joined us and Matt now comes along too, we all love a singsong and come home for Chinese food, unfortunately we no longer leave a tray out for Santa!

Christmas Tree’s
When we moved into our current house I believe we started to buy a real Christmas tree each year, it’s not a massive memory, but definitely over the last 6/7 years it’s been me and dad that go and get the tree. We used to go to the same place, but they closed down 2 years ago, so we are looking at different places. I love a real tree the smell is amazing! It’s always my job to decorate our tree and all of our decorations apart from a few have been sent over by my godparents in the states! This year, because we have got a new sofa we had to be careful what shape tree, it couldn’t be too busy and I think we got the perfect one!

Christmas Eve Breakfast

This started when my brother was about 4 maybe younger, my mum dropped us at McDonalds Christmas Eve and ever since then we have generally always tried to have breakfast. Unfortunately this year I have to work so Matt is going in my place! I normally go for Eggs Benedict and Joe will normally have a massive fry up! Either way, we fill our bellies ready to help prep the veggies before going to Church!

So those are 3 of my favourite traditions this time of year, what are yours??

IMG_2851.JPG

IMG_2852.JPG

Leave a Reply

