September’s Favourite App

Hello,

This is a bit on an unusual post, but I thought I would see how it goes and if it gets a good reception I will give it another go next month!

So this may sound a bit mad, but since I can remember I have always had music or a telly on to help me go to sleep, but earlier this month I realised that I need to get out of that habit and just learn to fall asleep normally! So I downloaded an app called Stop, Breathe & Think App on the app store, it was free at the time.

I have been using it pretty much every night ever since downloading it. It asks you to to stop and think about how you really feel for 10 seconds. It then asks you to pick how you feel mentally and physically & then pick 5 emotions. Once you have done that it gives you some self mediation recordings to listen to. They vary in length, but when I am laid in the dark with just my mind it is so easy to switch off and listen to the relaxing tones and just breathe and rest.

I have done some research and the App was created by a Organisation called Tools for Peace, their mission statement is

Tools for Peace inspires people of all ages to develop kindness and compassion in everyday life.

I cant imagine a better thing to do, as a society we are so self absorbed and concerned with money & what we can buy to make us constantly happy, that we over look the simple things in life that can enrich our lives. For example helping an old lady across a road, holding a door open for a stranger, carrying someones shopping to the car when they are struggling with a trolley and a buggy!

So although, the app for me is to help me wind down to relax and sleep better, the reasoning behind it makes me feel so pleased that I am start of something a lot bigger! You can pay for extra’s too to lengthen the mediation timers, which I haven’t done as it seems to be serving me quite well at the moment.

So, if you are like me and struggle to sleep or just want to learn to meditate and take 5 minutes out of your day for you this is definately an app for you!

Leave a Reply

