Why Am I So Indecisive…..

18. Be In the Audience Of A TV Show
21. Take My Godchildren Out For The Day By Myself

Both of these are being replaced, number 18, because its soo hard to get in the audience – you can get tickets but it’s a case of turn up and see if you can get in to the show – so it’s never guaranteed. Number 21, my godchildren were never my godchildren, I was a honorary godparent to one my friends 2 children. Unfortunately that friendship hasn’t stood the test of time and we now no longer speak or see each other, so 21 is never going to happen.

What I am going to replace these with is really difficult, I have been mulling this over for the last few days and here are the contenders:

Celebrate My Birthday Abroad
Throw A Massive 30th Birthday Party
Go To The Mall Of America
Be A Big Kid At Disneyland

So they are all a bit different, but I need to pick 2 of them! Each have their pro’s and con’s and I have done some research and based on going away in March 2015 (I’m not planning on going away that soon!) it would cost me + 1 other the same price to go to Disneyland Paris for 3 nights (not including park tickets just travel and hotel costs) as it would to go to the Mall of America and my Godparents in Indiana for 10 nights (that includes flight and hotel costs in Minnesota). How does that work?! I would love to go to Disney and just let go and have fun and enjoy myself, but it’s not something that I feel strongly about, but then how can you feel strongly about going to a shopping Mall! Haaahahaha!!!! How about throw a massive 30th Birthday Party – this could cost A LOT or cost a little, I could theme it, invite lots of friends and family and really have a great time. It doesn’t need to be in hall/marquee it could be held in a back garden or a pub etc. It can become a celebration of completing my bucket list! The other one is to celebrate my birthday abroad; it could come in so many different forms, a day in France, a week away or even mix it up with another item on the list!

Although it shouldn’t, it does come down to the cost element. At the point of writing this, I am due to attend an appointment with a Financial Advisor to help me to budget and start saving, as I am trying to save up for the most expensive thing I will ever buy – a home. So whilst my bucket list has to be about things I wouldn’t normally do or things I really want to do before I have to “grow up” it does come down to can I afford it?

I am swaying more towards a party and celebrate my birthday abroad, but then I want to go to the Mall of America……aaah decisions decisions. I can only pick 2, but what 2 will I look back on in 15 years’ time and say “I can’t believe I did that, that was such a great time”. I did have a 18th & 21st Birthday party so do I really need a 30th birthday party?!

Oh what to pick!! Ok, I can’t make the decision now, I am going to sleep on it and think about it later…..

So its now 2 days later, I have written off Disney….here are some Pro’s & Con’s to the rest:

Celebrate My Birthday Abroad
IDEA: Day Trip To France/Week Away All Inclusive Last Minute Holiday
PRO: somewhere new to see/experience a different culture/only needs to be a day or long weekend/could do it for my 30th
CON: who would I go with/is it going to be expensive for a short time
Throw A Massive 30th Birthday Party

IDEA: Garden Party/Could Be On A Cheap Budget – Start Preparing Now/Could Go All Out And Hire Caterers etc
PRO: big celebration/all friends and family together/ good fun
CON: cost/time to organise/had 18th & 21st party – do I need at 30th?
Go To The Mall Of America

IDEA: Girls Trip/Teamed Up With Somewhere Else In US/Possibly Then Onto Uncle Martins
PRO: somewhere new to see/wanted to go for a while/not just a mall there is a theme park too/can team up with somewhere else in the states
CON: cost (approx. £800 for 2 weeks 3nts @ MOA then onto IND inc car hire – based March 2015)/who would come with me

However, this still doesn’t help me as I don’t know what 2 to choose!!!! AHHHHHH!!! Ok, lets regain some composure, I have 4 more birthdays left (including my 30th!) to celebrate my birthday abroad, that means 4 years to plan and pay for a birthday bash – both of these are do-able. Mall of America, if the prices stay the same and say I took £800 spending money, thats £1,600 total – I am sat here thinking

THAT’S A LOT OF MONEY

but I am also thinking that I am only going to live once and a birthday party could actually cost that amount by the end of it. Life is so short why shouldn’t I do the things I wanna do – I cant do it when I’m gone & do I really want to sit when I am 60 and say “I wish I did that?” not really, I want to be telling my grandchildren “I did all these amazing things”.

Leave a Reply

