Road Trip & Rides!

Friday 27th June, we pick up 2 of my godparents grandchildren and head out for dinner at a local restaurant with their son and his children, once our bellies are full we head home pack for 2 nights and get some rest!

My Dad & His BFF!

My Dad & His BFF!

My Chubby Burger

My Chubby Burger

Saturday comes around, the van is packed for what looks like a 2 week vacation and we all jump in and head off on the road. Our first part of the drive is back through Amish country where we had been “hunting” Amish the day before – we manage to see a couple more buggies in people’s drive ways again. We then head off down country roads and drive through a cute little town called Batesville it looked really old and quaint. It had a lot of old looking houses and shops, there was also a canal and you could go on a boat and the horses would pull you down the canal. We then headed out to a huge reservoir, uncle Martin took a few wrong turns so the journey there took a little longer than expected….that ended up being a recurring theme through our road trip…..

The view from the resting area was amazing! The reservoir just seemed to go on for miles and miles, we could only see up to a bend and in my mind it would then go out to an ocean, but as we are in a landlocked state I know that’s not possible. We had some snacks and drinks then jumped back in the van and headed on towards Mason, Ohio.

P1030859

P1030860

P1030862

We arrived at out hotel, checked in, changed and the kids jumped into the pool! It was quite refreshing as it has been quite hot out here. I realised though that my foot still hasn’t healed as I couldn’t swim properly. We all managed to get changed and ready to head out again, but this time we were going to the RODEO….more on that later…..

We headed out the next morning to KINGS ISLAND, which is a theme park & water park, all together it has to be the size of Chessington & Thorpe Park put together. The first ride we go on is called The Vortex, mum, Aunty Kim & Kaleb all sit this one out & I think my dad wished he did too as he came off white as a sheet! We then headed off to The Beast, which is a wooden coaster, we all head off to the queue apart from mum and Aunty Kim (they aren’t big riders). That one definitely tips dad over the edge & he declares himself done for the day! The 2 littlest ones decide they want to go on the racer, which is 2 coasters that pretty much race each other – we all jump on – joe & Kaleb decide to go in the red coaster, which turns out to be the winning one! Joe, Kaleb & Uncle Martin head off to the new ride The Banshee, Faye-Lynn & I decide that we are going to go on the Viking Swing, I literally thought I was going to fall out when we were swinging sooo high! On the way back to where people were sat we walked past a face painting stand we both decided we HAVE to have it done, I grab some money and we head back. I can’t remember the last time I had my face painted, but there was one design I had to have!

LOVED This!

LOVED This!

I Think They Got A Bit Wet On The Water Ride

I Think They Got A Bit Wet On The Water Ride

Dad Just Had To Pose With Snoopy

Dad Just Had To Pose With Snoopy

We head back to the van and Joe & the little kids get their swim stuff, after the swim the night before I decide to sit this part out, when we head back into the park I get a wheelchair too as I can feel I have overdone it as my foot is starting to hurt. The kids have a great time in the swim park and the adults (when they aren’t watching the kids) enjoying people watching and seeing all the sighs kings island has to offer & believe me there was a lot!

Once everyone has decided they have had enough fun for the day, we head back to the van and head to a restaurant for some dinner – we had ALOT of laughs there due to the slowness of the service and just other silly things – I think exhaustion had finally set in!

The next morning me & the little kids have another swim and then we pack up and head back towards Indiana! We stop en route at a McDonalds, my first one here in America! Then carry on, on our merry way!

Sooooo even though it’s not a big road trip, it was still a road trip to a different state & we had such a great time!

Leave a Reply

