Wishful Wednesday

Hello Butterflies!

I am sat here pondering over what to write to you all, but I have a couple of things that I would to share with you!

Firstly, I have never blogged about my job and I won’t go into any major detail due to patient confidentiality, but I just can’t stop thinking about a call I took earlier this week! I suppose you could say that I work in a call centre & I am a team leader. Unfortunately I had to call a patient who wasn’t too happy with one thing and another, they weren’t what I would class as an elderly patient as they are about the same age as both my grandads, but bless I ended up being on the phone to them for a good 30minutes. Thankfully just an apology from me was enough to settle the patient, but there was lots of other underlying issues with the patient and I genuinely think they just needed someone to talk to and share their pain and anguish with. The sad thing is that they told me they have no family, unfortunately there was nothing I could do to help the patient with their other problems apart from being there to listen. It just made me think that if for whatever reason my grandparents didn’t have anyone around or even when I am old that there will be someone who will sit there & listen even if it isn’t their job as I know that at the end of that call I relieved some of their anxiety and pressure, just by listening.

It just makes me sad to think that there are some of the older generation have no one and just rely on people calling them or neighbours or even just someone working in the local shop – such a shame as so many of them fought for our country….. Well I hope I made things a bit better for that patient even if it was just for a short time!

On another note……how on earth are we nearly in June?! I have got a list of clothes to pack and I also have a list of things that I would like to buy, but right now – I’m really thinking that I would like someone to pack for me, so I can just take my suitcase and get on the plane. I have lost the excitement that I had a few weeks ago, I am bored of waiting and just want to get to the airport and on that plane. On the other hand, I got myself in a bit of a state the other night as I realised that I won’t be seeing Matt for almost 2 1/2 weeks, which is the longest we have ever been apart. I will have access to wifi so will be able to text him or face time ever so often (I will also blog so don’t worry!) but I will still miss him!

Em xxx

Leave a Reply

