Italia Romance

Last year me & Matt were looking at going to Rome…..but unfortunately he had his skiing accident which wrote off any foreign travel idea’s we had! I ended up booking my holiday to America with my family for this summer & we just decided to save and save for Vegas in 2015 with our friends.

I have been on countdown for America now for a couple of months and I am getting a list together of things I need to take and things I want to buy….its starting to get a bit long! We also have all our money ready for Vegas and San Fran next year & just need to get it booked – which we are doing probably before I go away in June!

I have had a few days off from work this week and we went for a look around the shops, just for something to do and for me to have a look at some shoes suitable for doing walking in on holiday (I have narrowed it down to converse, Birkenstock’s or just plain pumps!). We walked past Thomas Cook and they had an amazing deal on for Thailand for 14 nights, just £599 (flights + hotel) unfortunately it was for 1st May & there was no way we could do that trip, but it got us thinking maybe Asia isn’t that expensive?! We grabbed some lunch and then walked past Thomson and I jokingly said

Let’s Book A Holiday!

I wasn’t expecting Matt to say yes – his standard response is

No, We Are Going To Vegas & San Fran Next Year & You Want To Move Out

So I was surprised when he said “Ok – But Where?!” as a spur of the moment, he came up with Rome – we decided it would have to be a long weekend we both have planned off over our anniversary in August (this decision making was literally done in about 30 seconds). We agreed we would see how much it is first and if it wasn’t expensive then we would go ahead and book it. Thomson quoted us the cheapest £859 for flights, hotel & transfers – that included 1 night free, I had no idea what Matt’s budget was, but I knew I really couldn’t justify anything more than £400. So I asked the agent to print off the quote and that we would grab a coffee and talk it over (thinking, I can probably find it cheaper online!). As we walked out Matt said we should go to Thomas Cook and see what they can do for us. So we went in and somehow managed to get 4 nights B&B, flights, transfers (including 1 free night) for £795, so it worked out at about £99 each per night, which came in under my budget – we thanked her and said we needed to make some calls and would be in touch. I called my boss, Matt called his and thankfully we both definitely had the time off given to us and we marched straight back in, transferred the money from the Vegas & San Fran pot and paid for it….so we are off to Rome in August!

I literally land in the UK from America on 7th July and Fly out to Rome 1 month later! Its all a bit mad and unexpected – but I am so excited to celebrate our 5th anniversary together in Rome!

So, if you have any recommendations of restaurants or places we should definitely visit (apart from the obvious) please send me your suggestions!

xxx

Leave a Reply

