Whatta Year…..2013!

One of my best friends, Steph, came over today and we were talking about Christmas and the year that has passed and what we have to look forward to in 2014. We have both had some ups and downs this year and she is probably the only person that understands when I say that I am fed up of this country and cant believe I haven’t spent anytime abroad this year!

I have totally spoilt myself since I starting working full time in 2006 as every year I have been abroad on holiday. This year I have taken leave from work, but unfortunately due to a skiing accident Matt and I were unable to go on holiday and I wasn’t prepared to take leave and go on holiday by myself and the majority of my friends now are married or have children or already had plans to go away! So I have had some wonderful mini breaks in the UK this year, but it isn’t quite the same as packing a suitcase, grabbing your passport and getting some duty free!

Anyway, when I was speaking with Steph, it got me to thinking about when looking back on 2013 I am proud of…..

Joining A Gym
If anyone is reading this and knows me well, you will know that I am not really an active person. I hated the gym and if I can take a lift or escalator rather than the stairs I ALWAYS will! However December 31st 2012, I joined up to the gym and I have been going pretty much 3-4 times a week, every week since. The only times I haven’t been is if we have been away OR if I have been sick. This is a big achievement for me and it has really helped me to distress after work and given me something to keep motivated with. Joining the Gym and sticking to it is really a big thing for me.

Losing Weight
So when 2013 began I will tell you honestly, I pretty much topped the scales at 14st, which shocked me and upset me deeply. However, me being me I never really showed it, but I did the only thing I knew how and joined my local slimming world! So my journey hasn’t been quick, but I am 4lbs away from my 1.5 stone award and I can pretty much fit into a UK 14 (Dependant on the shop!). My aim is to get to a comfortable size 12, I am not too bowled over on how much I weigh, but I will be pleased if I can just fit into a UK 12!

My Job
I don’t really like to talk about work too much on here as whilst it is important to me this blog isn’t about my 9-5! However, the department in which I work in has expanded beyond my wildest imagination in such a short space of time and we have expanded from just 5 people, including myself at the beginning of the year to now 17! I am not going to lie, being a team leader is hard work, but the group of people I have working with me (because we are a team!) are brilliant! When the chips are down they know what counts and really stick together. 2014 is going to be another busy year for us, but I can feel it will be a good one!

My Anxiety
I have suffered from panic attacks for a few years now and whilst they aren’t always full on – they still can knock me for six! However, this year thanks to the gym and yoga I have learnt to keep a lid on things and remain calm and using breathing techniques and just generally learn to step away when things become too overwhelming!

So as you can see there are a few things I am proud of this year as well as all my achievements on my bucket list. Now there are things that I will happy to see the back of this year, but this blog is not and will never be a negative blog! Whilst I know you all know I am not superhuman and I do have my down days and days where life isn’t great, but you all have your own struggles – you don’t need to hear about mine!

Well I am going to sign off and do some reading and have set my alarm (on my day off!) so I can get to the gym and weigh in early before I get some bleach through my hair! My roots are insane!

Love To All

Emma xxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

