Family & Friends

‘The most important thing in life is your family. There are days you love them, and others you don’t. But, in the end, they’re the people you always come home to. Sometimes it’s the family you’re born into and sometimes it’s the one you make for yourself.’

When I first heard this quote in Sex And The City it really hit me and has stayed with me ever since. I have a lovely, if not crazy family that I was born into. Of course we fight, bicker and moan about each other but there is a deep connection that binds all of us together and without each other then the we wouldn’t be a family. There have been events happen within my family recently which have filled me with pride and happiness and others that have filled me with sadness and embarrassment. No matter what happens at the end of the day we are family and things will be resolved over time and wounds will heal and scars will fade.

Although I have a great family that I was born into, I like to think I have got a lovely little family of friends. One of whom dropped a big bombshell on me over the weekend, unfortunately at this stage I cant go into details (I know that’s unfair on you all!). She has been on a bit of a rollercoaster in the time that I have known her and this is another corkscrew on the ride! BUT even though she doesn’t know it and doesn’t see it in herself, she is strong and providing she believes in herself she can overcome any obstacle put in her way! This new path that fate has laid out for her wasn’t expected but as I reminded her, it has been done for a reason and whilst she might not see it at first, it will all be ok!

A week today we will all be stuffed full of turkey and all the trimmings, probably in a drunken mess and eaten all your selection boxes watching a comedy or a film on tv! Finally me and Matt have got some solid plans for Christmas Day and Boxing Day and I am looking forward to splitting our festive period between our 2 families. As I am now 25 and my kid brother is 16 our Christmas isn’t really too exciting as we have no little ones around to still believe and leave a tray out for Santa and get excited that he came when we were sleeping. Those days in this house are truly gone, however, if you come to my house – it really does look like Santa’s Grotto! As Matt has 2 nieces who are VERY excited about Santa it is lovely to see them over Christmas opening their presents and getting excited, playing with their new toys. Unfortunately Matt’s house isn’t like Santa’s grotto (unlike ours) but the spirit in the girls makes up for that!

Even though I never intentionally think about it, Christmas really does remind me of the importance of your family and friends. Without your family you would not be here today and without your friends you would not have had the laughs and experiences you have enjoyed, but without either of them you wouldn’t be the person that you have become and will continue to grow into. So whilst people focus on giving gifts and exchanging cards, take the time to just really appreciate those around you and really make the most of every moment you can. Take photo’s, write a diary or a blog and just spend more TIME with people, don’t chuck money at a problem, it wont create a solution!

Enjoy the last weekend Christmas Shopping!

Love

Emma xxx

Leave a Reply

