Christmas In New York

I changed my desktop photo at work today to the Christmas Tree at The Rockefeller Centre in New York, for me that is a beautiful Christmas scene. Whilst working through all our Christmas movies, I have noticed that the majority of Christmas films are set in New York, now I LOVE New York and all it has to offer, but there most something extra special about it for so many Writers/Producers to pick it as their location for their Christmas Movie.

Now, as you know on the bucket list I have to experience Christmas in New York. Mainly to see what all the fuss is about AND to see that tree! So I have been doing a spot of research to see what sort of things I can get up to when I go. At the moment I haven’t decided if I will go over Christmas or just in the lead up to the big day, so if your planning to spend some of the festive season in the Big Apple, why not check out some of these idea’s!

Top Of The Rock One of 2 places to view the famous New York Skyline, of course the other is Empire State Building. Top Of The Rock is open 365 days a year and is $27 per adult. Personally I prefer Top Of The Rock as you can see the Empire State Building and Central Park, there is 3 floors to view and no extra cost to do all 3 either. I have been up here 2 times on previous visits and I would definitely love to do this Christmas Eve! If you are in the area of Rockefeller Plaza then you MUST see that tree and watch the ice skaters!

Radio City Christmas Spectacular This show has been running since 1933 and I can remember when I first visited New York in 2005 and we did a tour of Radio City – this was one of the things they really told us about. Each year, I see people getting excited on twitter about going to see the show! I imagine it to be a bit like our version of Panto but 10 times better! I would definitely love to see one of the shows! I have looked and tickets for 2013 range between $45-$115, I guess it is like any show and depends where you sit!

Store Windows I have heard that the stores in New York really go to town at Christmas with their window displays. Macys in particular keeps popping up and also their Santa land! I would imagine that the store windows and their Christmas Departments get VERY busy, so I would recommend going as soon as the store opens to avoid the rush! The store windows I would like to see are; Macy’s, Bloomingdales, Tiffany’s, Dylans Candy Store, Saks, Barneys, FAO Schwartz. Now whilst you can walk round the stores I have found a bus tour that I would love to do called Holiday Lights & Movie Sites Tour through City Sights NY, it is $38 for an adult and $28 for a child. It looks to be a really good tour!

Horse & Carriage Ride Through Central ParkI would love to do this especially if there is a layer of snow, getting all cosy with a loved one under a blanket and perhaps a hot chocolate in a Red Starbucks Cup! I know the horse and carriage rides are expensive, but its only Christmas once!

Christmas Shopping If you are shopping for yourself or for others, I would always recommend a trip to Woodbury Common Outlet. It is approx. 45minute bus ride from Port Authority, but it is a massive outlet. unfortunately it isn’t under cover – so I would recommend you wrap up warm. I have always brought my ticket through City Sights NY (they are the tour guides that wear the yellow jackets!) and I think it is about $42!

Christmas Train Show For anyone who knows my boyfriend, you will know that he has a love of trains, not in a train spotting way, but he just likes trains! So as I can imagine I will be going to NYC with him, I have found 2 places with Christmas Trains! The first is at New York Transit Museum Gallery Annex which I believe is free and boasts a 34-foot-long display! The second is at New York Botanical Garden and this is definitely one that we will be visiting! It includes scaled versions of iconic New York Buildings and lots of other exciting things!

So as you can see I have found a few things to do, the only thing I need now is some suggestions of places to eat on Christmas Day! So if you have any recommendations PLEASE get in touch!

Happy Holidays!

Emma xxxx

Leave a Reply

